Reviews

Below are actual reviews of Kansas City, Missouri family law attorney Mark A. Wortman. Mark appreciates his clients and their willingness to share their experiences. Please keep in mind that the success of any legal matter depends on the unique circumstances of each case: successes achieved in past legal matters do not guarantee particular results for future clients.

Navigating divorce is undoubtedly challenging, but thanks to Mark and his team, the process was remarkably smooth and painless. Mark provided invaluable advice, ensuring the best possible outcome. His responsiveness via email, text, and phone was reassuring, making me feel confident in his representation. I couldn't have asked for better legal support during such a sensitive time.

– T. Moroz, ★★★★★ Google Review, April 2024

Mark was very honest and informative from our very first interaction. Blunt sometimes even, which I appreciated. He was straightforward with every question I had about cost and processes/steps. Mark does not hide behind a paralegal and made himself available through multiple lines of communication (email, text, call). I was never in the dark or left wondering about my case status. I highly recommend Mark & will use his services in the future if needed.

– R. Clements, ★★★★★ Google Review, January 2024

Mark is very professional, thorough, and easy to talk to. He made going through divorce as easy as possible. Thank you so much.

– K. Smith, ★★★★★ Google Review, December 2023

My mom is disabled and is currently getting alimony. She got divorced in 2011. Her alimony was getting taxed. But a law came out in 2019 that reversed this so its no longer taxed as long as the divorce happens after or the decree is modified after 2019. Mark and his firm helped me do that QUICKLY and at a good price. Thanks Mark!!!

– J. Lang, ★★★★★ Google Review, November 2023

Mark fought for me every step of the way from day 1. My ex-wife tried to take my kids away by making false allegations and leave me with no custody. Not only did Mark do what was necessary to help prevent that, he was pivotal ensuring I received 50/50 custody. He was so on top of his game, my ex fired her first attorney because he couldn’t keep up with Mark. He was very responsive and supportive of all my questions & concerns. I can’t thank you enough.

– D. Bare, ★★★★★ Google Review, November 2023

Mark was super great and I’m so thankful for all he did regarding my case.

– M. Davis, ★★★★★ Google Review, October 2023

If you need a good family/divorce counsel, do yourself a favor and look no further!
I spent months with a lawyer that did nothing for my case, super passive, and uninterested. I felt alone, lost, stressed, and helpless. Not to mention I did not trust her nor felt she had my best interest in mind or provided me the right counsel.
Mark was great from the very beginning. I could sense his drive, knowledge, and willingness to help resolve the case. I did not feel any doubts in hiring. I stopped feeling alone and in despair during this whole process immediately. He truly reads and listens, so you do not have to keep repeating details and facts. He provided great counsel, was always professional, straightforward, understanding, available, and super responsive.

– Johanna D, ★★★★★ Google Review, October 2023

Mark got the job done!!! He was highly proficient. He is No nonsense and fearless. He remained professional and straight to the point. He is also personable! He didn't nickel and dime me either He always answered all of my questions. I highly recommend..,

– L. Jones, ★★★★★ Google Review, October 2023

I had a great experience working with Mark. He's a straightforward, no nonsense guy & he listened to my case & handled it professionally. I would 100% recommend him.

– V. Ezernack, ★★★★★ Google Review, October 2023

Mark was very efficient and communicative with my relatively simple case - but that’s a good thing, did exactly what I needed him to do at a reasonable rate and quicker than promised. Would hire again - but I’d rather not have to of course.

– K. Sherrod, ★★★★★ Google Review, October 2023

My experience with Mark was exactly what I hoped for and expected. By being knowledgeable, experienced, and with integrity, Mark won me my case. He updated me often and effectively kept me in communication throughout the process. I trusted the other 5 star reviews, and I advise you trust mine, too. I stand by and highly recommend him.

– A. DerMiner, ★★★★★ Google Review, October 2023

As a father going through a high-conflict custody dispute, post-divorce, with an ex-wife unilaterally obstructing the shared parenting order of the Court putting her in violation of the shared parenting order of the court and every other order as well, without exaggeration, Mr Wortman gave it to me clear, concise, and most important to me was ethically aligned and morally upright legal advice. More impressively, Mr Worman was not willing to take my case because of his current clientele and his commitment to their cases that would not enable him to put in the time needed for my daughter and I to be reunited, so he respectfully and politely left me with solid legal advice and a plan as what should be done next and I will be forever grateful to Mr Wortman for his honesty. I can confirm that finding an attorney with these qualities and fundamentally honest principles is not possible in Hernando County Florida.

– D. Wolf, ★★★★★ Google Review, September 2023

I chose Mark A. Wortman as my attorney, based on a referral, and it turned out to be a good one. Mark is a no nonsense attorney; he will not coddle you or drag things out to make an extra dollar. He was very concise and to the point about everything I needed to do, and about what he was going to do. Everything was discussed up front and we stuck to that plan the entire way. If I needed anything, I was able to text, call or email, and would get a reasonably quick response. Everything went according to plan with my case and I would use Mark A. Wortman’s services again. I also recommend anyone that is needing legal services to contact him as well; you will not be disappointed.

– G. Houghton, ★★★★★ Google Review, September 2023

Went to Mark to seek child custody for my son. Mark got the case going and done quick and as cheap as possible to give me what I wanted, and what works best for my son. I appreciate your help. Recommend him to anyone seeking help with child custody.

– D. Quary, ★★★★★ Google Review, July 2023

I recently had a custody case and hired Mark Wortman as my attorney. I cannot express enough how pleased I am with the outcome of the case. Mark was incredibly professional, and knowledgeable, and worked diligently on my behalf throughout the entire process. He kept me informed every step of the way and always made himself available to answer any questions I had. I truly believe that without Mark's expertise, the case may not have turned out in my favor. I highly recommend Mark Wortman to anyone in need of legal representation. Thank you, Mark, for everything you did for me and my family.

– C. Ramirez, ★★★★★ Google Review, June 2023

Going through a divorce is both challenging and emotional, so having an attorney that will effectively navigate these areas is necessary for the changes a divorce brings.

Mark demonstrated a genuine connection to my needs, significate intelligence, and professionalism with my case even as he had to endure frustrating obstacles with the opposing attorney who was extremely inexperienced and not very intelligent.

Mark took his time to listen to my concerns and gave sound advice that would benefit me and my family for years to come.

If you are in need of an advocate to help you through your life’s changes, I would certainly recommend Mark A. Wortman for the job. You will not be disappointed in the end.

– C. S., ★★★★★ Google Review, Feb 2023
My experience with Mark has been nothing but exceptional. From the beginning, he was helpful, answering all of my questions and was straight forward in his answers. At no point in this difficult process did I feel as though I was alone given how responsive he was to both texts and calls. He's knowledgeable and can answer any question you have with easy to understand detail. On top of being exceptional, his fees are very affordable, offering a payment plan to cover the cost of divorce over time. I would recommend Mark to anyone going through divorce or even just considering it.
– J.L., ★★★★★ Google Review, January 2023

Mark was easy to work with and resolved my divorce amicably and quickly. He provided assistance and expertise when needed and made the process easy.

– T Rnd, ★★★★★ Google Review, Feb 2023
I was very impressed with the consultation process and advice provided by Mark on a complicated Divorce Modification case he handled for me. Throughout the process, Mark was always timely in his actions and responses to my queries. I highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for this type of Family Law services. Mark, thank you very much!
– Don
Cannot recommend Mark enough! Without him, I honestly think out of pure exhaustion and frustration, I would’ve given up and checked out somewhere along the divorce process. Mark’s legal knowledge and patience were crucial to reaching a settlement that everyone can live with. Truly, CRUCIAL.
PS: He keeps it real at all times and uses a lot of real life examples to explain, I found that very helpful for making decisions. Thanks for everything, Mark!
– Brittany N
Could not have asked for a better attorney for my divorce. He was clear, concise, and kept me informed throughout the entire process. Highly recommend if you want honesty, efficiency, and compassion.
– Whitney G
If you are looking for a reliable and experienced attorney, I suggest that you look no further, and call Mr. Mark you will not be disappointed. Thank you Mr. Mark
– Auphirah
Do yourself one of the greatest decisions you can make by hiring Mark Wortman. I hired him for divorce out of state. I'm in Florida and he was able to take care of everything for me! It wasn't an easy divorce and coming up with settlement. But mark made it easy for me. I had a lot of fear with this divorce, but hiring Mark he got to do all the fighting for me. I no longer had to speak with my ex at all. The greatest moment was Mark telling me, all communication from there on our with my ex could be done through Mark. I needed to hear that. It made me feel safe, free, and for the first time it gave me my power back. All of that was worth so much more than his fees. Know when you hire him that you're getting the best! He's real, down to earth, and he won't BS you. Thank you Mark for helping me finally close that book!
– O K
Mark is a phenomenal divorce attorney! Divorce sucks, period. But having a sharp, knowledgeable attorney who cares about your case helps make it possible to get through! He is always quick to answer my questions and concerns, and listens very well! Highly, HIGHLY recommend if you ever find yourself in the unfortunate situation of needing to part ways with your spouse.
Thanks a million Mark!!
– Cumorah S
He's a phenomenal lawyer. Very kind and empathetic. He commits a great deal of his time, including weekends and after work hours, to communicate about my custody battle. Definitely hire him if you're looking for a family lawyer.
– Zen L
Absolutely could not be happier! Mark has been incredible to work with. My case seemed to have gotten pretty muddied up due to the other party. Mark was straight forward, honest, and incredibly responsive both during and after office hours. I truly couldn't have gotten through everything without him. Very easy to talk to and a great attorney. I'd recommend him to anyone seeking assistance in family matters involving the court. He's really been the facilitator of a new life for my family and me. I can't thank him enough. It's been a pleasure to have someone like Mark in a very difficult, almost suffocating, time. I can breathe again, largely thanks to Mark. I could not be happier.
– Aaron
Mark and his staff went above and beyond to help with my divorce. The process was made far simpler than I expected and I was informed regularly on the status of my case. I have already referred Mark to friends, and will continue to do. Beyond thankful this already difficult process was not made any harder than it needed to be.
– Ashlie S
I am overwhelmingly pleased with the job Mark did for me. His professional demeanor and attentiveness to detail were outstanding. Whenever I had a concern, question, or issue in regard to my case, Mark promptly returned my call or set up a Face to Face meeting. His knowledge of the law and how the court operates were second to none. Early on in my case, Mark outlined a strategic plan and worked that plan to completion. My experience was outstanding.
– Craig V

I have had several lawyers for my divorce and modifications after the fact, Mark is by far one of the best lawyers in the KC area. He is the most rational, He outlines your options, gives great legal advice and achievable results, His fees are reasonable, His best quality is his communication. He responds to your questions within 24 hours and it does not matter what time of day it is. Most lawyers do not do that. I highly recommend Mark for any legal needs.

– JoMarie F.

Mark is a fantastic attorney. He accomplished in three days what my other attorneys couldn't do in eight months. Mark will sit down and explain what is going on with your case which my other attorneys kept me in the dark. He is very knowledgeable about the law and is an all around great guy. I can't express how happy I am with Mark Wortman, he is a God send. If you want an attorney that will fight for you, then this is the attorney you want to hire. He is awesome!!!!

– Vernon S.

The only way I know how to describe how Awesome Attorney Mark Wortman was handling my case is: Do you remember in High School or College taking those Multiple answer test and on some of the questions you would have four (4) possible answers A,B,C,& D and D's answer was "All Of The Above".

“ACCOMPLISHED / SUCCESSFUL / ........ BRILLIANT”

– Tim H.

I retained Mark as my attorney in my divorce proceedings. It wasn't the cleanest split and involved a special needs child. Although Mark was not well educated with my child's needs he took time to question me to have a solid understanding in order to obtain the best outcome possible. He is very candid on what to expect, was always well prepared for court, as well as took the time to prep me, since I was unfamiliar with court proceedings. I was quite happy with the settlement reached as well as his no hidden cost or by the hour fees that other attorneys I spoke with had. He keeps it real, makes you realize when you are reacting on emotions rather that common sense reasoning, and reminds you there are no 'winners' in divorces; although, I felt like a winner and very well represented in the end. As previous clients indicated, he was VERY prompt in returning calls, texts, and emails personally. No office clerk or secretary go between, which I personally appreciated, so I didn't have to keep repeating myself. I have already recommended him to friends and family, so obviously I would recommend him to anyone reading this as well!

– Kathleen S.

Mark was a capable and caring advocate during my divorce. His fees were clear and up front, and his dependability, availability, and commitment made a trying time as painless as good legal counsel can make it. He was always available to answer questions and concerns, and took time to make sure all my concerns were answered. I recommend him without reservation.

– Tamara B.

Excellent attorney. Mark is friendly, professional, honest and up on front. He goes beyond excellent. He makes everything so smooth and easy. I owe him a big thank you.

– Sahba Z.

Mark has an excellent attitude. Very professional and has a very good sense of humor. He is straight forward with everything involving your case. Mark does not charge high fees for his services which was great for me because I did not have a lot of money. He works with you on his fees. You can not get a better lawyer than Mark Wortman.

– Bradley K.

Mark was very professional and always prompt with responses. He was very organized and gave great legal advice. He showed concern and care in making sure my case was settled in a manner that was fair for me but ultimately respected my choices. I appreciated his knowledge and the fact that he took the time to explain things that I wasn't aware of.

– Bonnie A.

Mark was great to work with, he is very thorough, I would highly recommend.

– Nick M.

I don't even know where to begin to say how incredible Mark is. After going through a very lengthy divorce litigation with another attorney, I never thought I would like or trust any attorney every again. That was before I knew Mark. I found him on a referral and I can't say enough about how happy I am with him. He was very good to work with and I truly feel like he cared. I'm sure he is very busy and has many clients, and even with his case load, he always made time for me, always returned calls and emails in a timely manner, and always stayed on top of my case. My case was very complicated and ended up in the big court... a federal trial in which mark was AMAZING and won the case for me hands down in every way!! When the judge rendered his verdict he literally repeated Mark word for word and mirrored every single point he made showing everyone in the courtroom that Mark knew exactly what he was doing. He truly made my life better. I really can't say enough about his attitude, knowledge, and his ability to perform in the courtroom. He is truly top notch and I would never consider using anyone else and finally feel a sense of comfort knowing that whatever my ex-wife tries to pull again in the future, Mark will be on my side.

– Ron H.

Mark is a really great lawyer. Unlike many attorneys, Mark takes the time to listen and work with his clients in person, on the phone, and through email. If you need a lawyer, I would highly recommend Mark.

– Zack

He was professional, had a great sense of humor, and was honest and upfront about everything. The communication was excellent, unlike other attorneys that I’ve dealt with. When I left a message or email, I always got a response quickly. He was very fair with his prices, which made me realize just how much my other attorneys ripped me off. I had a really complicated case, and he was knowledgeable and thorough. I switched attorneys during my case, and he took it on last minute and even adjusted his schedule. As soon as I retained him, my stress level dropped because I knew he was going to take care of things that my other attorney was making me responsible for. What’s the point of paying an attorney if you’re left worrying? On top of everything else, I felt that he truly cared about the outcome of my case. His website provides a tremendous amount of information. A close friend of mine retained him after me, and can’t say enough good things about Mark Wortman either.

– Vicki

Mark is a straight shooter. There is a comfort level that comes with having a professional explain the situation fully; allowing the decisions to be informed and eliminating any second guessing. Mark has always been able to take the big picture into account, not just what may be the immediate results. This ability to sweat the details but step back and take an overall perspective is something that allows me to place trust in someone.

– Scot

I am writing to provide a very high recommendation of Mark Wortman. I live outside the state of MO and I conducted a review of 3 Attorney's and Mark was one of them. The reason I selected him over the other two was due to genuine interest in me and my situation, his honesty concerning points of my discussion and him providing a realistic plan. He never tried to overstate any situation and based everything on the laws and his experience.

Once I hired Mark he began immediately and provided me a list of items that he needed, he also tried to keep the process in gear so he pushed me several times to get all the information he requested to him, in some circumstances I did not have all the information and he worked for alternatives. He always moved quickly and I never had to call and ask him to move faster, although I did call for updates and he always returned my call within 24 hours, but normally same day (depending on his court schedule).

I do have to say, Mark is a very calming person, and while it was very easy to get wrapped up in everything, he always was able to keep me level headed and explained why a certain circumstance was the better approach, he always let me make the decision, however, he was always right on. During my several journeys to court, over the phone and in KC, Mark ensured he had his response in on time and that I was prepared for the procedure and the potential questions and always said "tell the truth". Mark is very professional, but very confident. He knows Divorce Law and will lead you down the path, if you unfortunately have to go through it. I would recommend Mark in a second to my friends or others that had to go through this process; you want someone that will be Honest and Realistic with your situation.

– Erik